DIY

layered necklaces from old jewelry

I’m really tired of looking at my old jewelry. Some of it’s broken, a lot of it’s outdated. Today, I wanted to rectify and give new life to those beaten down jewels – it was either that, or kick them out the door! So here’s what I did.

I gathered a few jewelry making supplies I already own, and went to town! I used to wear those earrings all the time (not as a pair, obviously…), but I lost their soul mates and decided that they looked like a cohesive set to use for a long, layered necklace. Here are the steps to follow:

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

1. Remove the threaders (yes, that is the technical term) from the earrings with the pliers. The threaders are the curved hook that go through the piercing.

2. Open the jump ring just a little.

3. Thread the earrings through the jump ring and thread the lobster clasp through the back.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

4. Use those pliers to close the ring back up.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Ba-bang! This puppy is ready to be clipped onto any ol’ chain you have lying around. Since this is a bigger piece, I like to hang it off of long chains that hit about mid-waist.

And of course, I just couldn’t help myself… I had to make this fancy pendant/clasp-y thing some buddies.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

As a note, I like to mix my metals. I wear a silver ring all the time, but I also love wearing gold and brass jewelry. So most of the time, if a piece of jewelry I make requires several pieces of metal hardware, I use different finishes and colors. It makes outfit planning a lot easier and a lot less matchy-matchy.

There it is! (And it took me less than 10 minutes!)

-D

Leave a Reply

