DIY

wedding dress lace pendants

I’ve seen these necklaces all over Pinterest. They’re basically made with glass and a piece of fabric, typically from a wedding dress. My parents have an anniversary coming up soon, and my mom suggested I make a pendant for each of the girls (I usually say “the girls” in reference to my three younger sisters, but this time, it includes me and my mom) with a piece of the lace from her wedding gown inside. I did, and recorded the process!

Okay, here’s the deal. I took some pictures leading up to this one – but none of them really turned out. I had planned to use different materials, like some microbeads, in the bezels, but it didn’t really work out. Let me just explain how I got to this point.

I grabbed a couple of 1″ bezels and a 1″ circle punch and got some nice, dark paper to put in these two. After Mod Podging (I used matte Mod Podge) the inside of the bezels, I stuck those papers inside and Mod Podged the top.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Let those dry a little and cut out some circles from the fabric. (I let my mom actually cut into her dress –  she needed to do that one.)

I actually found this step the most difficult. I used the bezel to trace circles onto the lace, and then cut them out. Here’s what was tough about this. I had to draw very, very lightly so you wouldn’t see my pen marks on the lace once it was cut. Because of this, I naturally wanted to stretch the lace as I cut in order to get more control. DON’T DO THAT. You’ll end up with funny shaped pieces, and they may not be usable. Fortunately, I didn’t end up wasting any of the lace from my mom’s dress.

Moral of the story – be careful, take your time, and don’t stretch the lace!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Next, I placed the lace into the bezels. The Mod Podge was still a bit wet, and that was perfect for tacking down the lace. Then, I put more Mod Podge over the top of the lace and coated it super well. THIS IS SO IMPORTANT. If you do not take your time putting Mod Podge over the lace – getting into ever fiber and crevice – the resin will totally ruin the lace. You won’t be able to see the detail of the fabric, and it all comes out looking like a wet dog. That’s really the only way to describe it.

You’d better let that Mod Podge dry completely before the next step. If you don’t, there will be clouding in your necklace!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

After it’s all dry – and I mean really dry – you can add your resin. I use Ice Resin. If you use the same stuff, just follow the directions on the back of the package.

Pour in that resin, getting a nice, glassy, even coat over the whole thing. Fill that bezel to the brim!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

The lace that I used had lots of holes in it, and that made the resin have air bubbles. To remedy this, I used a toothpick and gently guide the bubbles to the top. Once the bubbles were on the surface, they would normally pop on their own, but if they didn’t, a quick blast from my heat tool would put them to death in an instant. I recommend checking on your pendants every 20 or so minutes for the first 2 hours while the resin is still really wet. That way, if any more air bubbles form, you’ll have the opportunity to get them out before it’s too late.

But I made a little mistake that turned into a great learning experience! At about 3 1/2 hours, I went back and checked on the pendants. I saw a small bubble inside of one, and stuck my toothpick in there to get it out. Bad idea. When I pulled the toothpick out, I created a big dent in the resin. The surface had already started to dry and I totally disturbed it. I was about to ask my mom to cut a piece off of her dress again – but as a last-ditch effort, I decided to have another go at the heat gun. That little guy melted the resin again and it looked perfect, just as if I had never touched it. I’m not sure what the “window of opportunity” is on that one, but in case you catch yourself in a bind, try that heat gun! It saved me and that wedding dress.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

These are the finished necklaces. The rectangular one is for my mom. I tried to make them all a little different so that each one of us would have a unique necklace. Of course, now we’re fighting over which one gets the “favorite”… Not sure how to handle that one. But they’re all gorgeous, and they’re all holding a little special event.

-D

2 thoughts on “wedding dress lace pendants

Leave a Reply

