DIY

easy diy cork coasters

Oh my, my. I just made my house like 500 times cuter by making a quick set of cork coasters. I know that’s hard to believe, but just look at them!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

It really doesn’t get much better than that. Here’s what you need to make some of your own. (By the way, I didn’t make all those for my home. I’m selling some on Etsy, here.

1. Gather these up. (Not pictured – hot glue gun and sandpaper.)

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

2. Draw some circles onto your cork using the bowl or jar. Make sure the rim of this item is slightly larger than the bottom of your average glass or teacup. Also, don’t worry that I’m using a brightly colored pen. This will be on the bottom of your coaster.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

3. Okay, now cut those out! My cork was pretty thick. but I have a nice pair of scissors, so they cut through just fine. If it’s not working that way for you, maybe try an X-Acto knife. After that, I sanded the edges of the cork to smooth out any wayward cutting and to make the sides un-crumbly.

IMG_2465

4. Next, you’ll want to hold up one of your coasters to a piece of felt and cut around it. (The felt is actually optional, but my favorite feature of these finished coasters is how slide-y they are across a table. And I betcha that’s the first time you’ve heard someone refer to coasters as having features.)

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

5. Hot glue the felt on! The best method for me was just to peel back half of the felt, glue over that spot, stick it down, and repeat on the other side. It was much faster than taking the felt completely off, and it minimized the chance of the glue drying before I placed the felt perfectly. And I realized that They look like oatmeal cookies once they’re assembled. They’re probably not as tasty, though.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset IMG_2471

6. Now comes the fun part! Taping off the coaster! I chose a kind of geometric, triangle pattern, but I think stripes, chevron, checkered, etc. would be cute too.

IMG_2472

7. Paint your heart out! Mine are three toned, but they’d be darling as one, two, or more colors!

Β Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetΒ IMG_2474

8. Let them dry a bit, then peel up that tape. Look at that!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

All done!

IMG_2482

I really like the fact that, when viewed at an angle, the silver and gold really pop out, but if you’re looking at them straight down, they’re a little more minimalist. I guess that’s the nature of metallics. They’re super cute and really simple, but if you don’t want to make your own, don’t forget to check out my Etsy shop!

-D

7 thoughts on “easy diy cork coasters

  1. Pingback: diy cork keychains | ruby paper studio

Leave a Reply

