DIY

diy cork keychains

Is it weird that I’m working on Christmas gifts already? I LOVE gift giving and I’m constantly pinning and bookmarking gift ideas throughout the year. I especially love giving gifts to my sisters. They all have such great taste and they light up when they get a gift they really like, so I’m a sucker for buying them almost anything on their wish lists.

This habit happens to be expensive. So this year, I’ve resolved to only buying ONE “nice” gift per girl (in addition to some stocking stuffers)… but since I really like to give them gifts, if there’s anything else I want them to have – I have to make it. Which is cool, because I like making gifts just as much as buying them.

Anyway, 2 of my sisters collect keychains, so I decided to make some cork ones, since I had some left over from this project!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

You can make them too!

1. You’ll need this stuff:

(not pictured: hot glue gun)

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

2. Sand the edges of the cork. This way, all the sides are un-crumbly.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

3. Paint over the cork and choose the letters you’d like. I chose the first initial of each of our names.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

4. Paint over those letters (if you want).

 Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

5. While you’re waiting for the paint to dry, you can make some tassels!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

6. Now that the paint is dry, you can attach the letter to the cork using the glue gun.

7. Punch a hole through the cork with your Crop-a-Dile. Be really careful about this. Gently wiggle the cork back and forth until you get it to the spot you want to punch the hole. When you’re done, gently wiggle it back out. DON’T MOVE FAST! I actually broke 2 of them by jerking too quickly and I had to remake them. Just spare yourself that trouble and move slowly.

8. Thread the tassels through the hole and glue down the threads.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

8. Add a bit of hot glue directly into the hole and slide your eyelet through. Usually, you would crimp the eyelet to make it stay, but in this case, the cork is too thick and the metal isn’t even exposed on the other side.

9. Attach your hook or ring, and you’re set!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

And they’re done! They’re really simple to make, and can be easily personalized. Now I just hope none of my sisters look at this blog before Christmas has passed.

-D

Leave a Reply

