Life

a weekend hike – with a twist

Let’s just be clear (reading that in my head, I sound like President Obama)…

When I say “hike”, I’m not meaning some strenuous, legitimate HIKE hike. Sometimes, to me, a hike is a walk. But somewhere a little hilly, maybe. Okay, now that that’s settled.

We had a very fun/interesting hike this weekend. First, let me share the sweet (and boring) part of the story. And yes, I will also make this post into a very sarcastic tutorial. Wait and see, my little friends.

My family and I decided to wake up early-ish on Saturday morning and go on a little hike on a beautiful road about 10 minutes from our house. It started out so wonderfully.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Then. We were in the car all ready to leave, and my dad decides to be “funny” and drive up the side to make a U-turn. And we get stuck. And I mean REALLY stuck. So, naturally, I started photographing the situation so I could make a tutorial of how to get your car unstuck. It’s probably won’t help you at all. Just a heads up.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

1. Try to stick things under your tires to get more traction on that soft dirt. We used car mats and even rocks. Didn’t work.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

2. Take a shovel and try to dig the bumper out of the ground. (My dad forgot how low the bumper is on La Bamba and the metal bar in the tail end got embedded into the ground and we couldn’t get it out because of the asphalt.)

 Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

3. Find yourself a good Samaritan. It also helps if your Samaritan is a farmer and owns a ranch about 4 miles away.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

4. Since your good Samaritan is so good, he’ll offer to drive to his ranch and grab a chain. When he comes back, wrap that chain around the bar.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

5. Since he has a Ford F150, he can pull you out of your little predicament.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Easy as that! 😉 We were only stuck for about 45 minutes (30 minutes of trying to solve this problem on our own, and about 15 with the help of a nice person).

This little situation could have turned out a lot worse for us. We had one water bottle to share between the 6 of us, plus two big dogs. We had no cell phone service, and there were no houses for over 5 miles.

Basically, don’t do this to yourself.

I thought it was totally funny, and has a great time taking pictures and petting the dogs. It was definitely a beautiful weekend hike with a twist.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

-D

One thought on “a weekend hike – with a twist

  1. Pingback: autumn goals | ruby rae studio

Leave a Reply

