DIY / Old Made New

old made new – outdated tags

Alright, alright, I’ll admit it. I actually did this DIY like a month before I started this blog. You don’t have to be so pushy about it! I have a really awesome excuse, too. I just started my first 8-5 job and I’m tired, people. Tired. So don’t expect a ton of flowery language out of me tonight, okay?

I started out with some old scrapbooking tags. They’re a little outdated, and though still usable, they just weren’t floating my boat. I like more texture and pattern than color, usually.

outdated-scrapbooking-tags

Here are a few techniques I used to make these tags more useful to my collection.

1. Painted/Crackle Painted

These chipboard tags are a nice size and perfect for painting since they’re a strong material. I think someone must have given these tags to me since I can’t see myself ever buying these. And I’m only 20 so it’s not like I’ve been scrapbooking for a super long time or something and my style has changed all that much. Regardless, these HAD to GO.

IMG_1755

I painted mine with a sponge-like brush and used neutral and metallic paints.

IMG_1757-001 IMG_1759

I used my beloved (beloved) heat tool to dry the paint faster, but you can always wait eons for it to cure by itself. And yes, I am wearing blue polka dotted pajama pants. My blog, my prerogative.

IMG_1760

After the first paint layer was dry, I brushed on some Tim Holtz Distress Crackle paint. The thinner the layer, the finer the crackle.

IMG_1761 IMG_1762

2. “Gold Leafed”

Using the same painted tags, I brushed a bit of Mod Podge onto the bottom half of the tag.

IMG_1763 IMG_1764

Frankly, I have no idea if this material is gold leaf or not. Most of the gold leaf I’ve seen is in flakes. This stuff came from the thrift store, and I adore it and know that many tears will be shed once it’s all used. (I sell confetti out of the stuff on my Etsy shop.) I just cut a bit and put it gold-side-up onto the Mod Podge.

IMG_1765

I let it (mostly) dry before I peeled up the stuff.

IMG_1778

IMG_1779

And, again, that beloved (beloved) heat gun. I don’t think you can get away without it this time.

IMG_1781-001

I also added some ink splatters and drips to a few of the tags.

IMG_1754

3. Paper Covered

After I stopped gagging over the hideousness of these tags, I covered them in pretty handmade Indian paper giving it the good ol’ 1-2 with some double-sided tape and scissors.

IMG_1770 IMG_1771

IMG_1772-001

IMG_1773

IMG_1791 IMG_1799

Wanna know a secret? I messed up on the metallic painted tags, and they turned out my favorite. I used the heat gun on it (yeah, the beloved one), and maybe the paint had some actual metal elements in it, because they bubbled up like crazy! Once they cooled down, I pressed the bubbling down a little, and then fell in love. Look at that texture!

IMG_1766-001

So really, there are simple ways to make old stuff new. I plan to keep these type of posts coming, because I love to reuse and repurpose. And to save $.

2014-08-21

-D

Leave a Reply

