Life

rain is good

Let me start off by saying this. I’ve grown a brand new appreciation for weather changes. For the past year and a half, the weather here in the California Central Valley really hasn’t changed all that much from season to season. Now, I’m usually a fan of consistency, and I’ve never had too much of a fondness for the cold and drizzly weather – that is, until the Valley experienced one of the worst recorded local droughts in history.

This drought has been going on for a long while now, and since we’re a huge agricultural community, this has been devastating for our farmers. Many new water regulations have been put on the people living in residential areas in the Valley, and really, I haven’t lived through or experienced anything quite like that.

Last fall and winter, I think we only got one measly rainfall, whereas normally during those seasons, we will have rain anywhere from once per week to five days per week. Our crops need it and OUR SOULS need it! So – last night at about 10 PM, the rain started. It was so exciting and so refreshing that some big prayers of thanks made their way up to heaven. And the rain didn’t stop. All. Night. I woke up this morning to the pouring rain. It hasn’t really stopped all day today, either. Sometimes it’s barely a sprinkle, and other times, the drops are so heavy that they’re indistinguishable from one another.

I guess you can say I’m really thankful for this rain – I clearly won’t shut up about it. Here are some pictures I took around my house a little while ago.

DSC_0843 DSC_0844 DSC_0847 DSC_0849 DSC_0856DSC_0855DSC_0852

Now I’m off to listen to my favorite Tim McGraw song – She’s My Kind of Rain. Cheesy? Yes. Awesome? Definitely.

Do you get much rain in your corner of the planet?

-D

Leave a Reply

